West Virginia Department of Transportation

Division of Motor Vehicles Affidavit of West Virginia Residency PO Box 17010 · Charleston, WV · 25317



304-926-3801 dmv.wv.gov

WV Driver's License Number Photo ID Card Number
A.) Applicant Information & Certification
I, FULL NAME OF APPLICANT
hereby swear and affirm that I reside at the following West Virginia address:
STREET ADDRESS
CITY STATE ZIP CODE
in the home of Full NAME OF HOME OWNER UNDER SECTION B
I understand that providing false information will result in criminal and civil penalties, including the suspension of my driving privileges or cancelation of my photo ID card.
(X) SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE
B.) Homeowner Information & Certification
I, FULL NAME OF HOMEOWNER
hereby swear or affirm that:
FULL NAME OF APPLICANT
resides in my home at the following address:
STREET ADDRESS
CITY STATE ZIP CODE
I understand that providing false information will result in criminal and civil penalties, including the suspension of my driving privileges or cancelation of my photo ID card.
(X) SIGNATURE OF HOMEOWNER WV LICENSE/ID NUMBER DATE
C.) DMV Use Only
DMV Location:
Employee: Two proofs of WV residency: 1)

Instructions for Completing the Affidavit of West Virginia Residency Form

Section A of the application is to be completed by the person obtaining a WV Driver's License or Identification Card.

Section B of the application is to be completed by the homeowner whom the applicant is residing with. The homeowner is also required to provide two proofs of physical address from the list below.

Section C of the application is to be completed by the DMV Employee who processed this application.

Proof of residency examples are listed below:

- WV Voter's Registration card
- Current Driver's Eligibility Certificate/School Enrollment form if the applicant is under the age of 17 and is applying for an instruction permit or driver's license. (**Only** valid for 30 days, from the date of issuance.)
- Proof of WV public assistance
- WV Homestead Tax Exemption
- WV mortgage documents, WV homeowner insurance documents for a WV address, or proof of WV home ownership
- WV rental or lease agreement
- Current utility bill indicating a WV physical address (cannot be more than 60 days old, a termination notice, or two bills from the same company)
- Tax records indicating a WV address
- W-2 form that is not more than 18 months old
- WV Weapons Permit
- Valid WV vehicle registration card

All questions regarding residency requirements should be directed to the DMV at 304-926-3801.

For a complete list of acceptable proof documents, visit dmv.wv.gov/drivers-licenses.